Who we are

The Health Practitioner Regulation National Law (South Australia) Act 2010 established the South Australian Health Practitioners Tribunal as an independent tribunal within the National Scheme. The SA Health Practitioners Tribunal was established on 1 July 2010 by that law and is made up of people appointed by the SA Governor to independently hear and determine cases about the registration of health practitioners under the National Law.

The Tribunal is made up of:

  • The people who hear and determine cases, ie a President, Deputy Presidents and Panel Members
  • The Registry – the Registrar and administrative Registry staff.

The Tribunal is located in the Riverside Centre Building, North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia. The Riverside Centre is in the city on the northern side of North Terrace between the Railway Station and the Intercontinental (formerly the Hyatt) Hotel to the east, and the Exhibition Centre to the west, and opposite the Playford Hotel and the Optus building (Service SA on ground floor).

Hearing rooms and the President and members are on level 7. The Registry and Registrar are on Level 6.

The Registry is open from 8.30 am to 5.00 pm, on all business days, Monday to Friday.

The members of the Tribunal who hear the cases are a President, Deputy Presidents and Panel Members. The President and Deputy Presidents (the Presidential Members), are lawyers (Magistrates) of long standing, experienced in the law generally and in conducting hearings in a variety of areas of the law. Panel Members are people who are members of the health professions (ie a s10(1) panel) and people who are not members of a health profession ((ie a s10(2) panel), that is a member of the community generally; all are appointed by the Governor on recommendation from the Minister for Health and Wellbeing.

To read more about panel members and their appointment, see the section called Appointments to the SAHPT.

Applications are currently being sought for those interested in becoming SAHPT panel members, see the 2019 Expression of Interest page. 

All members of the Tribunal must be impartial, fair and even handed, have no direct nor indirect personal interest in the case being heard nor bring any pre-judged views on any of the issues in it.

The membership prescribed by the law for boards and tribunals in the scheme is aimed at building community confidence in the health professions and the scheme of registration and accreditation, the quality and safety agenda in health and the requirement for increasing accountability and transparency of health practitioner regulation to the community. There has been an increasing emphasis on community representation in all aspects of health practitioner service delivery and health practitioner regulation legislation nationally and internationally due to the increasing focus on health and safety from a consumer's perspective.

Contact Us

  • Street Address:
    Level 6, Riverside Centre North Terrace, Adelaide SA, 5000
  • Postal Address:
    PO Box 3636 , Rundle Mall SA, 5000
  • T: 8207 0999
  • F: 8115 1380
  • E: HealthPractitionersTribunal@sa.gov.au
Go to Austlii Website Go to AHPRA Website Go to Courts SA Website Go to SA Gov Website
To Top